I Have a Dream

Ever since I read my first Nancy Drew book, I dreamed of being a writer. This was in fourth or fifth grade. I could hardly wait for “library day” when the teacher would take us into this big mysterious room full of books. I loved the smell of the library. It was the smell of adventure and I couldn’t get enough of it. When I had devoured all of the Nancy Drew stories, I dug into the Judy Bolton mysteries, and then Trixie Belden. I even tried my hand at writing my own mystery when I was twelve. It was a total flop. I just didn’t know how to write. I had the dream, but not the “know how”; so I put my dream on a shelf and it sat there for many years like books that are never opened.

Becoming a Dreamer

In junior high, I discovered Jane Eyre. Oh, how I loved her. I wanted to be her – to tell Mr. Rochester, “No, sir. I cannot be your mistress because it wouldn’t be the moral thing to do and you, sir, are a cad.” No, that’s not what she said, but that’s what I would have said. Jane took the moral high ground with just the right words that shriveled more than Mr. Rodchester’s ego. That’s probably why I failed at writing. I had the imagination, but it didn’t connect on paper.

I had another dream. My childhood hero was none other than Dr. David Livingstone, the missionary/explorer to Africa. He discovered Victoria Falls and established a mission in the middle of the Congo. I wanted to be like Dr. Livingstone. I wanted to become a missionary. Although I sucked at writing, the thought of living in a hut in the middle of Africa wasn’t appealing either. I thought I could get used to it, but God had other plans for my life.

Ever since my mother told me that she was part Native American, I wanted to do something to help. I mean, after all, I was part Native American, too. My father was of German stock and although my hair was black and I had dark eyes, my skin was light. But the thought grew in my heart. I wanted to do something to help Native Americans. So I added that to my list of dreams.

Another dream was to work with the elderly. This dream was birthed when a Christian lady in my neighborhood invited me to go with her to visit some older people in a nursing home. I was shaken by what I saw. They looked so fragile and lonely. This dream did not become a reality until much later in life.

The tiny seed of another dream took root in my heart. In high school, one of my classmates lived in a foster home. Her parents were abusive and I noticed she was shy and withdrawn. She was moved from foster home to foster home. One day she disappeared from my life. I don’t know what happened to her, but I still can see her vaguely drifting in and out of my thoughts through the years. I knew one day I would work with homeless people or perhaps in an orphanage. But life got in the way. My dreams faded into the background.

I went to a Christian college, Olivet Nazarene University in Kankakee, Illinois. I majored in English but hated grammar. I still loved to read and took as many literature courses as I could to avoid taking the grammar courses. But the day came when I had to take a grammar course in order to graduate. I got through it somehow. I still have problems with commas. Thank goodness for copy editors!

I married while still in college (the wrong boy, of course) but he made me laugh. I pictured a life full of laughter and gaiety. Why do girls think this is such a necessary prerequisite to gauge the qualifications of choosing a mate? Someday, those boys that made you laugh will make you cry when they walk out the door.

Becoming a Missionary

But during the thirty-six years of my marriage, I did fulfill one of my dreams. My husband came home from a missionary trip to Brazil and said he felt the call to go back there and work in an orphanage. I couldn’t believe it. We’re going to be missionaries and work in an orphanage. Two dreams in one. I loved being a missionary. Working at the orphanage was a privilege and joy. I will tell you all more about my adventures in a small village outside São Paulo in future posts.

After being on my own after my divorce, I moved to Pasadena, CA. to be near my daughter, Tami, and got a job teaching in a small Christian school. I taught there for nine years and retired when the school disbanded. Bored with retirement, I looked on the internet for teaching jobs. Guess what? A Native American boarding school in Arizona was looking for an English teacher. I sent in my application a few weeks before Christmas. I was accepted and told to report after Christmas break. Another dream fulfilled. I sold most of my furniture and gave the rest of it away. I packed my clothes, books, computer, old manuscripts, and my teacups. My daughter drove me to the school. I will expand on my time at this school in later posts. I must get on with my story.

Becoming a Teacher

After retiring again from teaching, I moved to Albuquerque, NM to be near my younger daughter, Tiffany. She had just gotten married and I moved into a retirement community nearby. It was full of old people. Remember my dream to work with the elderly? Another dream came true. The retirement community is a hotbed of intrigue, gossip, bullying, and downright animosity. We need our own reality show. And yes, there is some hanky-panky going on, too. I will tell you all more about that in later posts.

Be careful what you dream. God just might fulfill your dreams.

-Joan Marie

P.S. My daughter, Tiffany, has recently agreed to foster a baby. I enjoy helping as much as I can with this little angel sent from heaven into our hearts. I will make it up to this little babe for not doing more for my classmate who was in foster care in high school. Thank you, Jesus, for fulfilling my dreams.

One thought on “I Have a Dream

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑